Upgrading Your Smartphone

How often do you upgrade your smartphone and why? Are you one to get the latest tech or one who waits until it breaks? Would you use a phone past a manufacturer's support period? What about changing operating systems if a phone had a better deal and/or features? Perhaps even change carriers if another had a better device sale/promotion?

• As a freelancer, I have to buy all my own equipment, so I lean toward more affordable tech. My current phone is a Moto G Power. I like it because it has oodles of memory (though I'm really good at using it up) and the battery lasts a couple of days with my regular usage. It helps that the phone is affordable and I can buy an unlocked one and skip Verizon's $100+ markup when you buy phones through them. This phone is slowing down a lot lately (it's 4 years old now), and I'm thinking I will get another one (with even more memory!), hand this one down to my 20-something son, and turn his phone (mine from several years ago) in.

I'll be interested to hear what others do! 

• I generally use my phone until it starts acting up.  Even older phones have more then enough power for me, but I do want something reliable as I don't want to be without one.  Last month my 3.5 year old Moto G Power (I love that phone) froze twice within a couple of weeks and froze upon restart each time.  I was able to reboot and get it working again, but that is when I decide I need something new.  I love the Moto G Power, but decided to switch to the ThinkPhone this time when a sale popped up and I have a lot of points to use.  I miss the FM radio and headphone jack on the G Power.  The Thinkphone is nice and a little faster, but I got it mostly because I am hoping to get 5 years+ out of it.

I switched from ATT Prepaid to Mint Mobile this year.  $15 and month with more than enough data for my needs (I am almost always on wifi).  I've been using prepaid and unlocked phones for many years and would never go back to the other plans.